MRPC News Release

For immediate release
June 17, 2016

For more information, contact
Bonnie Prigge at (573) 265-2993

Schwartze elected chairman of MRPC board

ST. JAMES—Maries County Presiding Commissioner Ray Schwartze took office as chairman of the Meramec Regional Planning Commission (MRPC) board at the June 9 meeting.

Schwartze was elected to serve as chairman at the board’s May 12 meeting. He replaced former chairman and Potosi Mayor T.R. Dudley, who had served two terms as chairman, the maximum allowed by MRPC’s by-laws.

As chair, Schwartze will lead board meetings and represent the board at events such as the annual conference of the National Association of Development Organizations in Washington D.C. and the annual MRPC Day at the Capitol in Jefferson City.

Schwartze has previously served on the board as treasurer and vice chairman.

Washington County Presiding Commissioner Marvin Wright stepped into the vice chair, filling the seat Schwartze vacated.

In other leadership changes, Crocker Mayor James Morgan was elected to serve as the organization’s secretary, replacing Bourbon Alderwoman Mary Heywood, who assumed the duties of treasurer. Heywood represents the unemployed on the MRPC board.

Officer terms are one-year terms that correspond to the organization’s fiscal year, which begins in July.

Formed in 1969, MRPC is a voluntary council of governments serving Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Maries, Osage, Phelps, Pulaski and Washington counties and their respective cities. A professional staff of 21, directed by the MRPC board, offers technical assistance and services, such as grant preparation and administration, housing assistance, transportation planning, environmental planning, ordinance codification, business loans and other services to member communities.

To keep up with the latest MRPC news and events, visit the MRPC website at or on Facebook at

Return to MRPC Welcome Page

Return to MRPC Press Release Archive