MRPC News Release

For immediate release
March 14, 2016

For more information, contact
Tammy Snodgrass at (573) 265-2993 or

MREPC invites local industries to attend Chemical Facility
Anti-Terrorism Standards (CFATS) presentation

ST. JAMES—Local business and industries that work with hazardous materials are invited to a special presentation by David Martak, the regional director of the Infrastructure Security Compliance Division, U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS). Martak will be presenting information on the Chemical Facility Anti-Terrorism Standards (CFATS) to the Meramec Regional Emergency Planning Committee (MREPC) meeting at noon on March 23 at Meramec Regional Planning Commission, 4 Industrial Drive, St. James.

“CFATS identifies and regulates high-risk chemical facilities to ensure they have security measures in place to reduce the risks associated with these chemicals,” Martak said in an email. “I am reaching out to all Region 7 Emergency Management and LEPC officials.”

Chemical security inspectors from DHS are working on a daily basis throughout Missouri to implement the CFATS program. A dynamic, multi-tiered risk assessment process is used to identify and regulate high-risk chemical facilities to ensure they have security measures in place to reduce the risk associate with the chemicals.

DHS hopes to learn more about chemical facilities in the region and attend county or local meetings or conferences to explain CFATS to local industries.

MREPC is a local emergency planning committee that covers Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Maries, Osage, Phelps and Washington counties. MREPC works with local governments as well as the private sector to maintain plans responsive to chemical hazards, which seriously threaten the area. The committee periodically coordinates and offers training opportunities for emergency responders in the region. Quarterly meetings are open to the public. Meramec Regional Planning Commission, a voluntary council of local governments serving the eight-county Meramec Region, provides staff support for the local emergency planning committee. Kraig Bone of Washington County chairs the MREPC.

Formed in 1969, MRPC is a voluntary council of governments serving Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Maries,Osage, Phelps, Pulaski and Washington counties and their respective cities. A professional staff of 24, directed by the MRPC board, offers technical assistance and services, such as grant preparation and administration, housing assistance, transportation planning, environmental planning, ordinance codification, business loans and other services to member communities.

To keep up with the latest MRPC news and events, visit the MRPC website at or on Facebook at


Return to MRPC Welcome Page

Return to MRPC Press Release Archive