MRPC News Release

For immediate release
Sept. 9, 2016

For more information, contact
            Roxie Murphy or Tammy Snodgrass (573) 265-2993

MRPC to honor 11 volunteers, community organizations
at Annual Dinner in Belle

ST. JAMES—Each year Meramec Regional Planning Commission (MRPC) honors residents of the Meramec Region who give to their communities by volunteering their time, talents and support. This year, 11 volunteers, including two youths and two community organizations, will be honored at the 2016 MRPC Annual Dinner celebration Oct. 20 at the Belle-Bland Community Center in Belle.

MRPC will recognize the following volunteers for contributions to their communities:

  • Carma Labbee of Potosi, nominated by MRPC At-Large Board member Debby Bust of Washington County;
  • Ronald Hoffman of Linn, nominated by Osage County Commission;
  • Mark McClane of Belle, Osage Arts Community Council, nominated by Belle Mayor Steve Vogt and Osage County Presiding Commissioner Dave Dudenhoffer, co-sponsors;
  • Carol Hofstetter of Bourbon, nominated by MRPC At-Large Board member Mary Heywood of Bourbon;
  • Barb Schaller of Belle, nominated by Belle Mayor Steve Vogt and Maries County Presiding Commissioner Ray Schwartze of Maries County;
  • Leo Dickey of Belgrade, nominated by Caladonia Mayor John M. Robinson.

Youth nominees:

  • Josh Sirois of Salem, nominated by Dent County Presiding Commissioner Darrell Skiles; and
  • Evan Thierry of Belle, nominated by Belle Mayor Steve Vogt and Maries County Presiding Commissioner Ray Schwartze.

Community Organizations:

  • Pulaski Young Marines of Waynesville, nominated by Waynesville Mayor Luge Hardman of Pulaski County; and
  • Owensville MOB (Making Owensville Better), nominated by Owensville Mayor John Kamler;

The Eugene E. Northern award, the highest honor given by MRPC for volunteers and community service, will also be announced at the annual dinner. The award recipient is kept a secret until announced at the Annual Dinner.

The public is invited to attend the event at the Belle-Bland Community Center at Belle. A reception sponsored by Maries County Bank, Mid America Bank and Legends Bank will be held prior to the event.

The reception begins at 5:30 p.m. and will include a silent auction and exhibits. Dinner will begin at 6:30 p.m. with a program and awards presentation to follow.

Tickets for the event will cost $25. For reservations, contact MRPC at 573-265-2993. The deadline for reservations is Oct. 13.

Formed in 1969, MRPC is a voluntary council of governments serving Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Maries, Osage, Phelps, Pulaski and Washington counties and their respective cities. A professional staff of 21, directed by the MRPC board, offers technical assistance and services, such as grant preparation and administration, housing assistance, transportation planning, environmental planning, ordinance codification, business loans and other services to member communities.

To keep up with the latest MRPC news and events, visit the MRPC website atwww.meramecregion.orgor on Facebook at


Return to MRPC Welcome Page

Return to MRPC Press Release Archive